Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

If requesting help, make sure to mention what game you are attempting to use ACT with.
For the best FFXIV support, join Ravahn's Discord Server. Also check out OverlayPlugin's FFXIV FAQ and Setup Guide.

Regex in ACT w/ FFXIV Plugin

I'm completely new to writing custom triggers for ACT and was wondering if anyone who has more knowledge could give me a quick hand. I opened the log file generated by ACT in vscode and used the "find using regex" feature to generate regex for triggers, but have run into 3 problems:

1) First the simplest, because the problem could just be that I'm dumb. In the triggers I copied that made me look into making my own, the following regex
14:3FEB:Leviathan starts using Temporary Current

is finding a match even though the word "using" can't be found in the entire document. Am I just looking at the wrong file? Are the log files in Advanced Combat Tracker\FFXIVLogs not the ones we're searching in with the regex?

2) "|" is not matched by escaping | (as in "\|"), ":" is what matches "|". However when I want to match 2 "|" in a row, "::" does not work. If ":" does indeed match "|", how do we match 2 in a row? Here's an example:

Text being searched:   3FE0|Rip Current|400048FD|Leviathan||

This is not being matched by ACT with the following regex:   3FE0:Rip .*Leviathan::
But in VSCode, it is matched by:   3FE0\|Rip .*Leviathan\|\|

All I did was replace "\|" with ":", because I've seen every working custom trigger I've copied do that.

3) How exactly does "." behave in ACT?
Text being searched:   179A|Horrid Roar|E0000000|||b
Is not being matched by this regex:    179A:Horrid Roar(.){12}[a-z0-9]
even though in VSCode it matches as long as I replace ":" with "\|"
Tagged:

Comments

• edited August 2019